How do you craft a notch apple in minecraft?

These apples were crafted by placing an apple on a crafting table and surrounding it with 8 blocks of gold, but the crafting recipe was removed in 1.9. Within the inventory they are called "enchanted apples", but with a holographic text and a glow effect covering them, like any other enchanted item.