How long does it take to boil pasta?

Very small pasta like macaroni, fusilli, conchiglie, penne may cook in 5 to 7 minutes. Larger shapes like spaghetti, fettuccine, dried lasagna sheets may require 10 to 12 minutes. Immediately drain the cooked pasta into a sieve or a colander.