Why do cats say meow?

It’s their language. If you listen to their meows you will know what they want. They might be hungry, scared, in pain, in heat, trying to scare other animals. But knowing cats, they are likely telling you that they want you to feed them because their bowl is only 3/4 full and you forgot about them.