What's the definition of affirmation?

Definition of affirmation 1a: the act of affirming nodded his head in affirmation b: something affirmed, a positive assertion His memoir is a reflective affirmation of family love. 2 law, a solemn declaration made under the penalties of perjury by a person who conscientiously declines taking an oath