Why do hummingbirds home?

The humming you hear coming from hummingbirds is due to the incredibly fast rate in which they flap their wings. An average hummingbird can flap their wings at about 50 flaps per second. Some hummingbird species have been recorded to flap their wings as high as 83 flaps per second.