What's the difference between a splinter and a sliver?

A splinter is a tiny piece of wood,or other material that can get wedged into your finger,toe or other body part if you come in contact with small loose pieces of that material.A sliver is is a small piece cut from something such as food,ie.she was not very hungry so she took only a sliver of cake.