How many letters is the longest word in the world?

PNEUMONOULTRAMICROSCOPICSILICOVOLCANOCONIOSIS At 45 letters, this is the longest word you'll find in a major dictionary. An inflated version of silicosis, this is the full scientific name for a disease that causes inflammation in the lungs owing to the inhalation of very fine silica dust.