When do babies usually start walking?

Healthline.com quote: "there’s a tremendous variance...usually between 8 1/2 & 20 months." Encyclopedia Britannica quote: "most infants begin crawling 7 to 10 months, by 12 months they can stand up alone. The average baby is able to walk with help by 12 months & walk unaided by 14 months."

---

Most babies take their first steps sometime between 9 and 12 months and are walking well by the time they're 14 or 15 months old. Don't worry if your child takes a little longer, though. Some perfectly normal children don't walk until they're 16 or 17 months old.