Can birds taste spice?

It would be easy to assume simply that mammals taste the hot pepper and birds do not, but that would be incorrect because birds can taste pepper. The hot sensation is unpleasant to most mammals, but not to many humans. In fact, capsaicin is an important spice in many cultures around the world.