How many people jump off the golden gate bridge a year?

Steven Miller, the bridge district's bridge manager, said an estimated 1,700 people have killed themselves by jumping off the bridge since its construction. Bridge patrol officers encounter jumpers at a rate of once every other day, if not every day, Miller said.