Where does the term mayday come from?

The term MAYDAY was established by the Royal Navy from a french word "M'aidez", meaning "Help" as a signal of distress. It was determined that the sound of the word MAYDAY over the radios at the time could not be confused with anything else and so it was therefore selected.