Does charmander evolve into charizard starting at level sixteen?

Charmander evolves into Charmeleon at level 16, who then evolves into Charizard at level 36. Since the release of Pokémon X and Y, Charizard can mega evolve into 2 different types of Mega Charizard, which are Mega Charizard X or Mega Charizard Y, for the duration of a battle.