When did polio start?

It is likely that polio has plagued humans for thousands of years. An Egyptian carving from around 1400 BCE depicts a young man with a leg deformity similar to one caused by polio. It was a relatively uncommon disease for most of the 1800s and reached epidemic proportions in the early 1900s.