What's the highest you can go in minecraft?

256. Limits. The top of the game environment is layer 255, and the top face of the highest block that can be placed is at Y=256. The maximum height a player can possibly reach is Y=2,147,483,647, which is the largest value of a signed integer on a 32-bit system.