Why is biodiversity important?

If everyone had the same genes then one bacteria or virus could kill everyone. The same could happen with all pine trees, or all dogs, or all strawberries. Biodiversity means that nothing is exactly the same. Some differences in genetics help us be stronger, evolve, and even help fight diseases.