What's the difference between obsidian and onyx?

Obsidian is an igneous rock. It is a naturally occurring volcanic glass formed when lava extruded from a volcano cools rapidly with minimal crystal growth. Onyx is not an igneous rock. It is the parallel banded variety of the silicate mineral chalcedony.