How do you pick a sweet watermelon?

Look for a watermelon with a large and orange sun spot. If the sun spot has webbing on it, this is also a good sign, but if it's lighter in color you should keep looking. Additionally, a heavier and darker watermelon is also an indication of ripeness and sweetness, so be sure to compare by weight.