When did the first game of thrones book come out?

On August 1, 1996, “A Game of Thrones,” an epic fantasy novel by George R.R. Martin, is released. The book was the first in Martin's “A Song of Ice and Fire” series, about feuding medieval noble families on an imaginary continent called Westeros.