Is renee zellweger british?

Renee Zellweger was born in Katy, Texas so is an American citizen. Her casting in the very popular 2001 British romantic comedy Bridget Jones's Diary, created the necessity for her to gain 20 lbs, learn to speak in an English accent and smoke.