What is a solstice?

sol·stice /ˈsōlstəs,ˈsälstəs/ Learn to pronounce noun noun: solstice; plural noun: solstices the time or date (twice each year) at which the sun reaches its maximum or minimum declination, marked by the longest and shortest days (about June 21 and December 22).