Who is yom kippur?

Yom Kippur is the holiest day in Judaism and Samaritanism. It occurs annually on the 10th of Tishrei. Primarily centered on atonement and repentance, the day's observances consist of full fasting and ascetic behavior accompanied by intensive prayer as well as sin confessions.