What's the difference between a typhoon and a cyclone?

Hurricanes, cyclones and typhoons are all types of tropical storms. ... Hurricanes are tropical storms that form over the North Atlantic Ocean and Northeast Pacific. Cyclones are formed over the South Pacific and Indian Ocean. Typhoons are formed over the Northwest Pacific Ocean.