Is ivan the gorilla dead?

Ivan was a western lowland gorilla born in 1962 in what is now the Democratic Republic of the Congo. Sadly, the silverback show gorilla is no longer alive. Ivan passed away in 2012 at an Atlanta zoo, He was anaesthetized during a physical exam due to his declining health, but he never woke up.