What's an ampersand?

An ampersand, also known as the and sign, is a written or pictorial symbol (a logogram) used to represent the conjunction and. It originated as a ligature of the letters e t which is Latin for the word and. On a standard keyboard the Shift+7 keys are used to input an ampersand.