What's the proper p. h. for drinking water?

Pure water pH is 7 which is neutral. Drinking water must have a pH between 6.5 - 8.5 to meet EPA standards. Hard water usually has a higher pH.

---

Drinking water below a pH of 6 can be caustic while above a pH of 8 can be hard and may not taste good.