What's a diamond seed?

Good one- this question may have several answers: for geo-chemists, tiny bits / seeds of diamonds are used to make new diamonds (like pearls) or 'seed' as in 'spike' a mine shaft to con a buyer, or a 'mindcrafter'(?) or a lover with a promise of a 'diamond' that leads to an everlasting bond.