When was marvel created?

Pulp-magazine publisher Martin Goodman started the company later known as Marvel Comics under the name Timely Publications in 1939. The first publication of Timely was Marvel Comics #1, which introduced Carl Burgos's android superhero the Human Torch and Bill Everett's Namor the Sub-Mariner.