Why do they call ketchup?

As early as 300 BC, ketchup began its transformation when British traders in the 1700s brought it back to Britain. As the British experimented with “perfecting” the sauce, ketchup grew more and more popular. Cookbooks even began to boast all kinds of ketchup recipes. It evolved from there