Do you boil potatoes with the lid on or off?

Keep the lid on when bringing the water to a boil. This helps keep heat and moisture in the pot. If the recipe says to keep the water at a simmer, take the lid off.

---

Chef Paul says to boil your potatoes with the lid on. Either on or off has little effect on the potatoes, but the lid will allow the water to come to a boil quicker.