Why was queen mary called bloody mary?

During Mary's five-year reign, around 280 Protestants were burned at the stake for refusing to convert to Catholicism, and a further 800 fled the country. This religious persecution earned her the notorious nickname 'Bloody Mary'. she wasn't any more bloodthirsty than many European kings at the time