How long can eggs be left at room temperature?

In North America where eggs are typically washed prior to selling, eggs should not be left out at room temperature for more than two hours. In other parts of the world where the eggs are not wet washed prior to selling, eggs can be left out longer.

---

According to the USDA, eggs should be immediately refrigerated or used within 2 hours after being removed from the refrigerator.