What is a bidet?

Some people mistake bidets for awkward sinks, drinking fountains, second toilets, or unusual urinals. Others think bidets are used for washing their feet or even keeping their drinks on ice (shower beer, anyone?). In reality it is a special fixture for washing your undercarriage.