How old are scrunchies?

The scrunchie was patented in 1987 by Rommy Hunt Revson. She created the first prototype of the scrunchie because she wanted a gentler version of the metal hair ties used in the 1980s. Revson named the decorative hair accessory the Scunci after her pet toy poodle.

---

The scrunchie—a ring of elastic encased in loose fabric that forms a ruffle when twisted around a ponytail—was invented in the 1960s, but it wasn't a thing until the Scunci brand launched in 1987.