How fast can the fastest person on earth run?

Jamaica's eight-time Olympic gold medalist Usain Bolt, who retired in 2017, still boasts the title of fastest human alive. Bolt ran the 100 meters in 9.58 seconds. Maxing out at about 27 miles per hour, that's just under the top speed of a house cat