What's the most common language in europe?

English is still the most spoken language in the EU by far, with German now spoken by thirty six percent of citizens and French spoken by twenty nine percent of the EU's new smaller population of 446 million people. Italian comes fourth at eighteen percent followed by seventeen percent for Spanish.