How do you grow bamboo in minecraft?

Bamboo can be planted on grass blocks, dirt, coarse dirt, gravel, mycelium, podzol, moss, sand, red sand, or mud. At default random tick speed (3), each plant grows approximately every 4096 game ticks. When bone meal is used on it, it grows by 1–2 blocks. Bamboo can grow up to 12–16 blocks tall.