What was the first condiment?

The first condiment was Salt. However, some of the world's oldest condiments are Mustard and Garum. Mustard (300 B.C.) was used by the ancient Sumerians, including ingredients such as pepper, caraway, coriander seeds, dill and celery. Garum (500 B.C.), as used by the Romans, refers to a fish sauce.