Can you use baking powder instead of yeast?

Baking powder cannot be used instead of yeast for making traditional yeasted bread.

---

Baking powder is a type of chemical leavener that is activated by either heat or acid. It is generally used in cakes, cookies, brownies, muffins and other such baked items. It is usually not swappable with yeast for bread products.