What do you do when you have a splinter?

If you have a splinter it is best to first sanitize the area where the splinter is located. Then try to remove the splinter with a pair of sharp pointed splinter tweezers. Avoid squeezing the skin around the splinter as this usually makes the splinter go further under the skin.