How old is venom?

The sentient alien symbiote that ultimately becomes Venom was first introduced as a living costume in the May 1984 issue of The Amazing Spider-Man. However, the alien’s ultimate transformation into Venom occurred several issues later, in The Amazing Spider-Man #300 that was published in May 1988.