How far away is lightning?

If you count the number of seconds between the flash of lightning and the sound of thunder, and then divide by 5, you'll get the distance in miles to the lightning: 5 seconds = 1 mile, 15 seconds = 3 miles, 0 seconds = very close. Keep in mind that you should be in a safe place while counting.

---

You can tell how far away lighting is by counting the seconds between seeing the flash and hearing the sound. Sound travels about 1 mile in 5 seconds, so if you see a flash of light and begin counting seconds before the sound reaches you, every 5 seconds is equal to a mile away.