What makes peppers hot?

The capsaicin in peppers causes the heat you experience while eating hot peppers. The more capsaicin in the pepper, the hotter it is. When consuming capsaicin you endure pain because your body is fighting the heat of the pepper. When you eat a hot pepper, endorphins work to block the heat.