Does planet nine exist?

Pluto was original considered the ninth planet. The IAU downgraded it as a dwarf planet because it did not meet the three criteria the IAU uses to define a full-sized planet. Essentially Pluto meets all the criteria except one—it “has not cleared its neighboring region of other objects.”