How does a mushroom grow?

Mushrooms grow from spores (not seeds) which are too small to see the individual spores. Rather than soil, these spores rely on substances like sawdust, grain, straw, or wood chips for nourishment. A blend of the spores and these nutrient sources is called spawn.