What is wax made out of?

A wax is a simple lipid which is an ester of a long-chain alcohol and a fatty acid. The alcohol may contain from 12-32 carbon atoms. Waxes are found in nature as coatings on leaves and stems. The wax prevents the plant from losing excessive amounts of water.