What are tornadoes?

A tornado is a violently rotating column of air that is in contact with both the surface of the Earth and a cumulonimbus cloud or, in rare cases, the base of a cumulus cloud

---

A tornado is a narrow, violently rotating column of air that extends from a thunderstorm to the ground.