How long do bitters last?

As bitters age they oxidize and become less potent both for smell and taste. Most bitters contain alcohol of 40 percent by volume. As a result they have an indefinite shelf life as long as the alcohol is retained in the mixture. In some cases they can last up to five years after opening.