Did prince philip serve in the military?

Prince Phillip joined the Royal Navy in 1938 aged 18. He rose to the rank of Admiral of the Fleet, he was also Field Marshal, Marshal of the Royal Air Force, Captain General Royal Marines Commander. He had a distinguished active service until 1952 when HRH Queen Elizabeth was crowned.