What is gap stand for?

General accounting principles

---

The word 'gap' could mean a space between the subway platform and the edge of the train... in some places ... "Mind the gap" ... is spoken over loud speakers to remind travelers of that space where their foot or belongings might get snagged or hooked, and thus, be a danger.