How do you defeat a witch in minecraft?

To kill witches easily in Minecraft, you need to kill it before it can finish drinking its Potion of Healing. The best method we found for this was to stand around 11 blocks away. This encourages the witch to drink its Potion of Swiftness. When it starts drinking a potion, run at her and hit her.